UCF presidential search committee officially established


In response to UCF President John C. Hitt’s Oct. 24 retirement announcement, the presidential search committee has officially been completed, according to a Tuesday email from UCF Board of Trustees Chairman Marcos Marchena.

The committee, which includes 15 members, was created more than two weeks ahead of the Nov. 15 committee appointment deadline Marchena set at a press conference on Oct. 24.

“It’s essential the search committee that will identify the finalists for our next president include representatives from many groups,” Marchena said in the email.

In compliance with university and state policies, the committee must include three members from the UCF Board of Trustees, also known as BOT, and a member from the Florida Board of Governors. The committee will also include representatives from UCF faculty, staff, alumni, the student body and the Central Florida community, Marchena said.

The members are: Trustee David Walsh as committee chairman, Trustee Beverly Seay as vice chair, Trustee William Yeargin, Sydney Kitson from the Florida Board of Governors, Manoj Chopra and Linda Walters as representatives of UCF faculty,  Gordon Chavis as a representative of UCF staff, SGA Vice President Cristina Barreto, BOT Chair Emeritus and UCF alumnus Rick Walsh, former UCF Trustee Conrad Santiago, Michael Manglardi of the UCF Foundation and UCF alumnus, UCF alumna and UCF Alumni Board Chair Sara Bernard, Falecia Williams from Valencia College, Orlando Mayor Buddy Dyer and President of Dr. Phillips Inc. and the Dr. P. Phillips Foundation Ken Robinson.

Hitt will retire effective June 30, 2018, and Marchena plans to have the new president approved and confirmed by that date as well, he said at the press conference on Oct. 24.